Christian Faith

Throw Kindness Around Like Confetti part.2

kindness confettiIf you read my latest blog post, titled ‘Throw Kindness Around Like Confetti’, you’ll know I discussed the topic of kindness and how important it is that we show it to those around us. After flicking through my bible recently, I found a quote that I had stuck in my bible. I’m all about post it notes in my bible, but this one really grabbed my attention as it corresponded perfectly with my recent post, and I felt I had to share it as a little follow up.

So, onto the quote. This quote is from the ‘Live Love Lead’ bible study by Brian Houston; which I found on the YouVersion bible study app. The quote reads:

“If you want to love the way Jesus loved, if you want your life to be characterised by love in a way that reflects the heart of God to everyone you meet, then pay attention to how you respond to people who make you uncomfortable.”

I don’t know about you, but this quote really challenged me. Writing my blog post on kindness spurred me throughout the past month to be kinder, however this quote has really stuck with me. We all know people who make us feel slightly uncomfortable. People who are different from us perhaps, or maybe people who are all too similar! These people may be people that we don’t enjoy spending time with or people who have different opinions or lifestyles to our own that we just don’t understand. Being kind and reflecting God’s love to these people isn’t always easy! Sometimes, we as humans can often think ‘someone else will be kind to them though, won’t they?’ But that’s not the attitude we should hold. We should develop an attitude as sons and daughters of an all-loving God to want to make everyone, and anyone, feel loved! And believe me, I know that’s not easy. But when we start to step out of our comfort zones and push past these uncomfortable feelings, we can truly begin to be characterised by the love that our father shows to everybody.

Don’t we want that? Don’t we want to show love to those who don’t know God? Those who are hurting, those who are broken, those who are lost? God does. And through Him, we can feel empowered to show His love to anyone and everyone. We are called to be his ‘hands and feet’ in the world. Be encouraged my friend!

“Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength. The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than these.”
-Mark 12:30-31

Missed Part 1 of ‘Throw Kindness Around Like Confetti’? Check it out here.

Whilst you’re there, have you read my very first blog post? Check it here.

Leave a Reply

