Christian Faith

‘I loved you at your darkest’ | Romans 5:8

Screen Shot 2017-04-15 at 09.20.35

As we approach Easter Sunday, I thought I’d do a blog post on the verse Romans 5:8. This is one of my favourite verses in the bible, a constant reminder of the sacrifice Jesus made for us. It’s been a verse that has especially been on my heart the past few days, and here is just a reflection on it.

The verse reads:

‘But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.’ – Romans 5:8

God sending His one and only son, Jesus, was the greatest sacrifice. There is NO greater love than this. He chose us…He saw each and every one of us and chose us. Even when we were sinners in our darkest hour, he CHOSE US. He wore our sin and shame as he was nailed to a cross, a crown of thorns on his head. WHY? Because He loves us. He loves His children more than anything, and he wants to have a relationship with them.

“You are more loved than you will ever know by someone who died to know you.”

Because of Jesus’ resurrection, we are free to dance because we have freedom. His death brought us LIFE!  We are free from our sin, we don’t have to carry that anymore. He paid all the debt we owe from our sin. We can give all of our mistakes and wrongdoings to our Father and He will forgive us. He makes us pure, as white as snow. Just as the scripture says:

“Come now, let’s settle this,” says the LORD. “Though your sins are like scarlet, I will make them as white as snow. Though they are red like crimson, I will make them as white as wool.” – Isaiah 1:18

Thank you for this indescribable love Father.

Screen Shot 2017-04-15 at 09.59.41

I also just wanted to share the lyrics from the hymn ‘How Deep the Father’s Love For Us’. This is such a lovely hymn, and I really love the lyrics.

‘How deep the Father’s love for us
How vast beyond all measure
That He should give His only Son
To make a wretch His treasure

How great the pain of searing loss
The Father turns His face away
As wounds which mar the Chosen One
Bring many sons to glory

Behold the man upon a cross
My sin upon His shoulders
Ashamed, I hear my mocking voice
Call out among the scoffers

It was my sin that held Him there
Until it was accomplished
His dying breath has brought me life
I know that it is finished

I will not boast in anything
No gifts, no power, no wisdom
But I will boast in Jesus Christ
His death and resurrection

Why should I gain from His reward?
I cannot give an answer
But this I know with all my heart
His wounds have paid my ransom

Why should I gain from His reward?
I cannot give an answer
But this I know with all my heart
His wounds have paid my ransom’

Listen to ‘How Deep The Father’s Love For Us’ HERE (GOSPEL VERSION- LOVE THIS!)

Leave a Reply

